Distance Education Centre (YCMOU)

Extension Activities

Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University, Nashik (YCMOU Study Centre -6504A)

Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU) was established on 1st July 1989 by an Act XX (1989) of the Maharashtra State Legislature. It is the Fifth Open University in the country. The jurisdiction of this university is spread over the entire State of Maharashtra. The YCMOU is recognized under section 12 (B) of the University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi.

The goal of the YCMOU is to become a ‘Mass Varsity’. The University strives to ‘Reach the Unreached’ segments of the society thereby providing need-based, academic programs of various levels ranging from certificate to post-Graduate programs. The YCMOU has its headquarters at Nashik, Regional Centres in 8 regions and 1711 learners support centres spread all over the State of Maharashtra.

Our college has established as study centre in 1993. Since the establishment, college provides distance education to needy people through study centre and the work of bringing “Dyanganga” to the doorsteps of the brothers and sisters who are deprived of education due to various reasons and have a strong desire to get education at all levels of the society. At the time when the study center was established in our college, only Preparatory and B.A./B.Com. courses were available and the number of students was about 50 to 60. In the year 2020-21 he total number of students in 12 different courses has increased to around 1400.

In the year 2021-22 the Following Courses are conducted in our study centre -

  1. Preparatory
  2. B.A
  3. B.Com
  4. B.Lib. & I.Sc.
  5. M.Lib. & I.Sc.
  6. M.B.A.
  7. M.A.- Marathi
  8. M.A.– Hindi
  9. M.A.– English
  10. Diploma in School Management (D.S.M.)
  11. Diploma in Journalism and Mass Communication (DJMC)
  12. M.C.A.

The students of the courses available today are provided a very smooth service directly and indirectly through the study center. It is the intention of our organization as well as the college to start various open university courses based on the needs of the students in the future.

Centre Head – Prin. Dr.S.K.Patil

Co-ordinator: Prof. B.D.Lande

Assistant Co-ordinator: D.N.Kapse

Email – rcpycmou6504a@gmail.com